The Saint Mary's Armenian church is an ArmenianChristian church located in Tabriz, East Azerbaijan Province, Iran. It is the largest and oldest Christian church in Tabriz and a notable centre for Armenian national and religious ceremonies held by the Armenian community of Tabriz. The church is located in the Dik Bashi district of Tabriz.
This church was built in the 6th century AH (12th century AD) and in his travel chronicles, Marco Polo, the famous Venetian traveler who lived during the 8th century AH (14th century AD), referred to this church on his way to China. For many years, Saint Mary's served as the seat of the Azarbaijan Armenian archbishop. It is a handsomely built edifice, with annex buildings sprawled over a large area. A board of Armenian peers governs the well-attended church.
The Tabriz Firefighting Tower (also Yanghyn Tower;Azerbaijani Turkic: يانغين کولهسی, Persian: برج آتشنشانی) is a historical tower located in Tabriz, Iran. The tower, standing at 23 meters high, was built in 1917. It was used to investigate fire related incidents inside the city. The city was constantly observed from this tower for any signs of smoke and fire. Following any visual evidence, the firemen were informed and sent to the fire incident location.
The firefighting station of Tabriz, which is the first firefighting station in Iran, was established in 1832.
Arg of Tabriz (Persian: ارگ تبريز, also known as Arg Alishah, Arg-e Alishah, Arch of Alishah, Arg Citadel, and Masjid Ali-Shāh), is the remnants of a big unfinished 14th-century mausoleum and a 19th-century military castle and barrack in city center of Tabriz, Iran. The original construction was made between 1318 and 1339, during the Ilkhanate. Within the construction, the roof of the mausoleum collapsed and the construction was stopped afterward. Centuries later, by the eruption of the Russo-Persian War, 1804-1813, and the Russo-Persian War (1826-1828), the compound was quickly reconstructed as a military compound. During the reconstruction of the Arg compound, a foundry factory for the manufacturing of cannons for the Iranian Army was built, as well as a military headquarter, a barrack for the troops, and a small palace was added as well to the original plan of the Arg. Samson Makintsev, better known as Samson Khan, a Qajar Iranian general of Russian origin, lived inside the citadel for years together with his wife, the daughter of Prince Aleksandre of Georgia. During the Russian invasion of Tabriz in 1911 they shelled the Arg in initial attacks. Once they captured the city, they used the Arg as a central command center. During their occupation, because of careless handling, the artillery pieces they used set fire on parts of Arg. During the Pahlavi era, parts of the Arg which had been constructed in the 19th century by the Qajar dynasty, were destroyed. This destruction was with the aim of purifying the original Arg construction from later developments. The southern part of the Arg was turned to a park, the "Mellat Garden" (lit. park of the people), before the Iranian revolution in 1979 In the early 1980s after the suppression of uprising of supporters of Muslim People's Republic Party against the new establishment of mixing religion and state and neglecting of Azerbaijani minorities, Moslem Malakuti selected as new Imam Juma of Tabriz by the revolutionary government. During his tenure in Tabriz the destruction of Ark's Qajar era addendum wall and cultural institutes and ark theater surrounding it accomplished and a new mosque for Friday prayers. Some people believe this destruction of local heritage was a systematic destruction of local Azerbaijani identity. In the 1990s and 2000s, a rehabilitation and renovation project was executed by the Iranian Organization for Cultural Heritages. During this rehabilitation, however, all of the remaining Qajar era development from Arg castle were destroyed. At the same period, a new big mosque was built next to the Arg castle. The superstructure of the new mosque undermine the architecture of Arg castle. Despite the regulations of the Iranian Organization for Cultural Heritages and several court hearing the construction of the new structure continued and accomplished.
The Municipality was built in 1934 as the Tabriz municipal central office. After World War II it was used by the Azerbaijan Democrat Party as a Government Office. When Iranian troops regained control of Tabriz in 1947, the building was again used as the Tabriz municipal central offices, a function which has continued up to the present day.
During the 1990s, in an attempt for installing an elevator, one of Saat's patios was damaged. The dome in top of the tower of Saat was reconstructed on 2008 with a new khaki colored fiber glass instead of the original silver colored dome. Since 2007, part of the building houses the Municipal Museum.
In recent years parts of the building is reorganized as municipality museum of Tabriz. The museum includes historical maps of Tabriz and photos of new establishments and reconstructions in Tabriz. There are also some of first equipment and machines used in the city including: first movie projector, first taxi cars, and old firefighting tracks. In major hall of the museum some of the best hand weave rugs of Tabriz are presented.
Since Saat Tower is located in the center of the city, it has been used for various ceremonies and gatherings in the city. During 1947 it was used as the seat of the Azerbaijan Peoples' Government.
Iranian new year, at the beginning of every new Iranian Year (20 March), a big Haft-Sin is made behind Saat.
Earth hour, since 2014 Tabriz celebrate the earth hour by turning off the lights for Saat Tower.